Announcing Wilga Rivers Travel-Study Memorial Scholarship Recipient, AATSP Mass Bay Chapter

The Mass Bay Chapter of the AATSP recently awarded its first summer scholarship for Study in Spain. This award honors the memory and work of the late Dr. Wilga Rivers, renowned professor of foreign language pedagogy at Harvard University, teacher and mentor of many AATSP Mass Bay members. Dr. Rivers' publications, her teaching, her brilliance and perseverance, and her gracious, engaging personality will continue to have an impact as those who knew and cherished the lessons of her life and intellect. This scholarship is being offered by the Mass Bay Chapter of the AATSP and the Embassy of Spain and the Ministry of Education and Science and covers the program cost of the Summer Study Program offered by the Embassy of Spain and the Ministry of Education and Science at one of about a dozen locales throughout Spain plus a portion of the candidate's travel expenses. These summer programs are an excellent opportunity for teachers, both novice and seasoned professionals, to enrich and expand language skills, cultural knowledge and methodology while enjoying an authentic immersion experience.

This Year's winner of the AATSP Mass Bay Wilga Rivers **Travel-Study** Prize is **Viviana Planine**, a Spanish teacher at Newton South High School. She was recently honored at the Mass Bay Chapter's Awards Ceremony for the National Spanish Exam. Present also were the Spanish Cónsul General de España, the Ilustrísimo Sr. D. Carlos Robles Fraga; Clara Gómez Jimeno, Spanish Language Consultant, Mass. Dept. of Education, Consejería de Educación de España; Stephanie Cuddeback Salim, President, AATSP Mass Bay Chapter and Spanish teacher, Matignon High School; Dr. Phyllis Dragonis, Deputy Superintendent, Melrose Schools; Dr. Mary-Anne Vetterling, Professor of Spanish, Regis College. Phyllis and Mary-Anne gave brief talks about Wilga Rivers and Stephanie and don Carlos presented the award to Viviana.



From l to rt: Phyllis Dragonas, Viviana Planine, Clara Gómez, Stephanie Cuddeback-Salim, Don Carlos Robles Fraga